Emerging Scholar Awardees, Ninth Global Studies, Conference University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, USA

Emerging Scholar Awards

A small number of Emerging Scholar Awards are given to outstanding graduate students and emerging scholars who have an active research interest in the conference themes. The Award provides a strong professional development opportunity for early career academics—meeting experts in the field, interacting with colleagues from other parts of the world, and creating networks and lasting connections. Awardees are invited to attend the conference to present their work and play a critical organizational role in the conference by leading discussions, chairing parallel sessions, and providing assistance in session rooms.

Applications are open to those pursuing research degrees, post- and graduate students, as well as early career faculty.

To apply, follow the link below. You may also view further instructions by selecting our "Step-By-Step Guide."

Due Date: March 29th, 2018

In Their Words

I really enjoyed this experience—it was rewarding and very special. I felt that I really belonged to the event and therefore my whole experience in the 3 days were very significant. I talked to many different people, I learned a lot—with the presenters, I saw a myriad of subjects, as well as with my role in the conference, as a graduate scholar, where I was given the opportunity to understand and see how it works. I was very happy to be part of it!"

Raquel Amin, 2015 Awardee

One of the most important skills I acquired as a Graduate Scholar is networking with fellow participants at the conference. My position as a Graduate Scholar gave me the opportunity (or "excuse") to talk with many delegates, with whom I might not have communicated if I had not chaired their panels, for instance. The experience taught me how to lead discussion amongst panelists and members of the audience and how to summarize the opinions voiced or to add yet another perspective (my own) to the debate."

Lieselot Verdonck, 2014 Awardee